REPORTING OF ACCIDENT AND DAMAGE
Immediately report any accidents or damage you incur while operating a university vehicle to the local police department. During normal business hours please notify the Office of Risk Management and ADA, your supervisor, and/or the Physical Plant Motor Pool representative.
When you have been in an accident, you must:
1. Call 911 if there are any injuries.
2. Keep calm and do not argue. Arguing can result in a lawsuit.
3. Make no statements concerning guilt or fault.
4. Never agree to make payments for the accident.
5. Notify the police; a police report may be necessary for some insurance claims.
6. Discuss the accident only with police officers, representatives of the Adventist Risk Management (the university's third party claims adjuster), or a university official.
7. Record as much information as you can on all other parties to the accident. This information may include their insurance company, their name, license number, plate number, make, model, and year of car, how accident happened, witnesses (with addresses and phone numbers).
8. LSU Risk Management will complete an ARM-Automobile Loss Notice form to submit to Adventist Risk Management with 48 hours of accident.
9. Refer all questions from lawyers, the other party to the accident and others to the Adventist Risk Management Inc.
10. California law requires traffic accidents on a California street/highway or private property to be reported to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) within 10 days if there was an injury, death, or property damage. Accidents occurring on January 1, 2003, or after must result in damages in excess of $750 to be reported. The law requires the driver to file the SR-1 form with DMV regardless of fault. This report must be made in addition to any other report filed with a law enforcement agency, insurance company, or the California Highway Patrol (CHP) as their reports do not satisfy the filing requirement.
If in an auto accident what to do: